Facts and Statistics About Romania

Fast Facts

Official Name: Romania

Location: (Southeastern) Central Europe

Time Zone: Seven hours ahead of U.S. Eastern Standard Time (GMT + 2)

Area: 92,043 sq. miles (238,391 sq. km) - a little larger than the state of Minnesota

flag of romaniaFlag of Romania: Three vertical stripes: red, yellow and blue.

Population: 19,942,000 (March 2014)

Largest cities: Bucharest (1,883,400), Iasi (322,000), Cluj Napoca (309,000), Timisoara (303,000), Constanta (298,000), Craiova (295,000), Galati (286,000), Brasov (275,000), Ploiesti (224,000), Braila (205,000), Oradea (196,400).
Romania's population lives in 320 cities and towns and 12,956 villages.

Main Ethnic Groups: Romanian 84%, Hungarian 6.1%, Gipsy 3.1%, German 0.2%, Ukrainian 0.2%

Religions: Christian Orthodox 81%, Roman Catholic 4.3%, Reformed 3%, Greek-Catholic 0.7%, Unitarian 0.3%, Jewish, other.

Official Language: Romanian

Currency: Leu (RON) ( plural Lei )

Climate: Temperate, four distinct seasons, similar to northeastern USA

Capital: Bucharest (București)

Form of State: Romania is a semi-presidential democracy based on a bicameral Parliament:
the Chamber of Representatives or "Chamber of Deputies" (Camera Deputatilor) and the Senate (Senat).
All members of the legislature are directly elected from Romania's 41 counties.

Under the semi-presidential system, the president is responsible for foreign and defense policy and controls appointments of prosecutors and the judiciary.

Legal system: Based on European models and Constitution of 1991.

Electoral System: Universal direct suffrage over the age of 18.
Parties must win at least five percent of the national vote to gain
representation in the Parliament.

National Elections: December 9, 2012;
next ellections: Fall 2016 (parliamentary), Fall 2019 (presidential)

Head of State: President of the Republic, currently Mr. Klaus Werner Iohannis; (elected on November 16, 2014).
Romania's president is allowed to serve two consecutive five-year terms.

National Government: The government is led by the Prime Minister, confirmed by the Parliament on the nomination of the President of Romania. The present Government is formed from non politically affiliated specialists.

Head of the Government: the Prime Minister, currently Mr. Dacian Ciolos.

Main political parties: Social Democratic Party (PSD), the New National Liberal Party (Noul PNL), Democratic Union of Hungarian Ethnics in Romania (UDMR), National Union for Progress (UNPR), Liberal-Democratic Alliance (ALDE), Popular/ Social Movement (PMP).

Regional Government: Forty-one County Councils (Consiliu Judeţean).

Romania is a member state of the European Union (EU) and North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO)